Little Boxes

I have been playing with bits of paper and making little boxes this week. Back in early April I mentioned working on a new piece called If I could save time in a bottle. Each copy will include 4 small bottles, labelled with a time and date. The book will contain an explanation of the significance of each time. As the book and bottles will be packed in a small box, I need some kind of additional enclosure to keep the bottles from rattling around.

I did a test with scrap paper.

The measurements seemed to be accurate enough, so I did another test with the blue/grey paper I will use in the final piece.

The design still needs refining as the sides of the blue box are not connected to the bottom, leaving the whole thing a bit unstable.  I’ll do one final test with a more solid structure (sides attached to bottom) to make sure that the bottles still fit after they have labels.

I liked the look of the printing inside the first test, so I created an image of a pocket watch.

I will print this on the paper for the bottle holder, and use it as part of the design for the label (also printed on the blue/grey paper) which will go on the front of the box.

I did a bit more work on the list of events to be commemorated in the book. A fuller explanation will be given for some of the things listed below.

This week I also designed a poster and invitation for the upcoming four-person show I am participating in. Paper, Clay & Canvas doesn’t open until the last week of June, so I will save that and post it closer to the time.


In other book arts news:

Book artist/sculptor Carola Willbrand currently has an installation exhibition at the Museum of Fine Arts, Stift Admont (Admont Abbey), Austria. Also running from now until November, the museum is hosting an exhibition of medieval manuscripts.

In doing a little research, I realised that just upstairs from the museum is one of the world’s most beautiful libraries.

If you like doing things late at night, there are library tours from 10 to 11 p.m. at night on selected Wednesdays in July and August. If you can’t make it to Admont in person, you can at least take a virtual tour of the library here.


And in knitting news:

I finished quite a large shawl this week. I based it loosely on Dee O’Keefe’s Ashton Shawlette.

It’s free pattern, and ideal for knitters who want to try lace knitting for the first time as it comes with 13 pages of detailed instructions.

I knit like I cook, so I made some changes: knitting the whole thing in garter stitch (no curling edges), and making it much larger. I eliminated the pointy border as it is a gift and it doesn’t seem right to give someone a gift that requires time and equipment they may not have to block it after washing. (Not that a shawl needs washing that often.)

Here’s the shawl before blocking,

and here it is after blocking.

Both images are over-exposed to show the pattern more clearly as the shawl is quite dark. The colour in the bottom image is a bit closer to reality.

I also finished this smaller shawl/scarf last night. (The picture was taken in the afternoon.)

I’ll post a picture next week after I have it blocked.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design, installation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Little Boxes

  1. lcmt says:

    The bottles evoke Joseph Cornell’s Egyptian box for me: https://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2011/09/dime-store-alchemy-joseph-cornells-surrealist-boxes/245370/
    Cornell is one of my favorite influences. And your knitting skills are impressive!

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      I have always liked Cornell’s assemblages. I also like Cabinets of Curiosities. ; ] As for the knitting skills: they are improving, although I have discovered since starting to knit lace that I wrap the yarn the wrong way when doing purl stitches, so I have to reverse some of the pattern stitches to compensate. One of the disadvantages of being self-taught before there were Youtube instruction videos!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Pictures Of An Exhibition | Byopia Press

Leave a Reply

