The Box Factory

I’ve done quite a bit of production work this week, starting with 25 copies of the label for If I could save time in a bottle. Here’s the layout page in InDesign,

and the stack of trimmed labels.

Here’s a label glued to an unassembled box. The yellow pointy fingers indicate where I trimmed the sides of the flap so that the box will open and close more readily.

The back of the box will have a smaller label with a description of the contents, but I can’t make that one until I know the actual contents of the book, and I’m still working on that!

Most of my work time this week was spent producing box parts for the 25 copies. I printed, scored, and folded the spacer inserts.

I printed out scoring marks, then scored and trimmed the outer box parts.

The parts were then cut to shape.

The end with the ribbon tab was folded, pierced, and cut.

I am partway through the final folding.

I plan to glue up the ribbon this afternoon so I will be ready for the final assembly to begin on Monday.

It’s going to be a sticky week!


We have moved from Spring to early Summer. (I define Spring as the warm spell after the snow melts and before the mosquitoes hatch.) A week ago the Nanking cherries were in full bloom,

the Siberian almonds were flowering,

and the Saskatoons were just beginning to blossom.

This week the crabapples are giving a display, including my favourite Almey crab.

David has been working hard in the vegetable garden,

with occasional help from our lovely assistant Kemuri.

He also spent some time taking pictures. Here’s a shot of some Nanking cherry blossoms just after the overnight frost has melted,

and a photo (taken through the kitchen window) of the very large male(?) coyote who spent some time sunning himself in our pasture. (Our lovely assistant was in the house at the time, which was a good thing.)


In book arts news:

If you are in the Berkeley area on the weekend of June 3 – 4, you might want to attend some of the events planned for the Bay Area Book Festival. You can find more information here.

 

If you make artist’s books, you might consider entering this competition.

Links in the above text don’t work, but you can find the link for applications here.

 

If you just want to spend a few minutes looking at images from beautiful books of maps created by Matrakçı Nasuh, 16th century Bosnian mathematician, teacher, historian, geographer, cartographer, swordmaster, navigator, inventor, painter, farmer, and miniaturist, you can find some here.


And in knitting news:

I gave away a small crescent-shaped scarf this week, but the big project is a large crescent-shaped shawl that I plan to keep for myself, as I am particularly fond of the soft sea-green colour. This is the third try, and it finally seems to be working out the way I want!

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design, knitting, maps and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

