Close, But Not Quite

I got quite a bit of work done on Recomp this week. I also spent quite a bit of time waiting for glue (well, cooked wheat starch paste/PVA mix) to dry.

I finished covering the panels in Thai mulberry paper, including the fiddley infills in the inside corners.

I covered the frame edges in a grey Japanese paper —this is actually the back of a patterned paper— and bands of paper from the hornets’ nest.

I collaged pages from the Decomp text on the front and back.

After mounting the comb from the heart of the hornets’ nest on a covered piece of light weight book board, I mounted it inside the back panel.

 

I cut out the title from a bit of nest paper and a bare section of a page from Decomp, and glued them to the front panel. I tried to match the cover of the original book, and although I was not able to replicate the font used, I think I have captured the feel. Here’s the original cover (well, a version of it off the publisher’s website):

Here’s my version:

I still need to complete a booklet made from pages of the original text and make a holder for it inside the front panel. I also need to purchase and install (more correctly, have David install) hinges and a hook latch. I hope to finish the booklet and the holder this afternoon.


I have been giving away recipes this month in honour of my birthday: Chilled Potato/Cucumber Soup was first, followed by Cooked Wheat Starch Paste. This week’s recipe for Salmon Cheddar Quiche is another one that can be served cold in hot weather, but is also excellent served hot on a cold day. It’s a quick dish to prepare and makes a good emergency meal if you usually have the basic ingredients on hand.

 

Here are some pictures of one I made recently using the leftover salmon/green onion variation.

Everything but the eggs.

Eggs stirred in. Note that I have left identifiable chunks of salmon.

Mixture in pie crust after a gentle shake to level it.

Ready to eat. (It’s not the most elegant pie crust I have ever made, but it tasted just fine.)

If you want to download a pdf of the recipe, you can find it here.


In other book arts news:

Although the deadline for entry isn’t until January 2018, and work doesn’t have to be delivered to Victoria until next May, if you work in the book arts you might want to be thinking about this juried exhibition already. A copy of the entry pdf (English version) can be found here.

If you live in the Victoria, B.C. area you might want to consider something that is coming up on July 8 and 9: the B.C. Islands chapter of CBBAG is hosting a two-day Oriental Binding Workshop with instructor Joan Byers. You can find out more here.

If you are looking for summer workshops on the West Coast, a little south of Victoria in Washington State the Bainbridge Island Museum of Art will be holding a one-day workshop on July 15 that might be of interest to book artists: Botanical Contact Prints on Paper Workshop with Catherine Alice Michaelis. You will find registration information here.


In Knitting news: I finished another asymmetrical shawl in burnt orange, but I haven’t washed and blocked it yet. I have started an off-white crescent shawl with an Old Shale lace border.

It doesn’t look like much at this point so I didn’t take it’s picture. The image above is from Pinterest.


In other news: no more live caterpillars, just cocoons everywhere. The first ones should start hatching next week. The good news is that we are having a second Spring: there is new leaf growth on the defoliated trees.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in altered books, artist's books, book arts, Design, instructions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Close, But Not Quite

  1. ARTrivative says:

    ❤ the Recomp pieces! Question: (<- and sorry if this is addressed elsewhere on your blog) I have some pieces I am working on where I have mounted paper to a hardboard panel board. I want to cover the edges without buying a frame, I love the idea of mounting paper to the edges, as you have done here? Could I use PVA, without the wheat paste mixed in?

    Like

Leave a Reply

