Last Minute

I have pre-written and scheduled this as I will be at the gallery doing the final stages of set-up when it gets posted.

Please drop in if you are in the Saskatoon area while the show is on. There will be an artists’ talk on Tuesday at noon, and I plan to be in attendance at the gallery on Thursday and Friday mornings.

This is the booklet that goes into the inside front half of Recomp:

I got all the little labels written out and pasted onto little glass bottles for If I could save time in a bottle.

David mounted a shelf in the gallery so that all 100 bottles can be displayed at once.

Here are a couple of shots taken late Saturday after things started to look like an exhibition. I will post more images next week after the show is up —and down again!

 

In other book arts news:

You may have already noted my passion for pop-up books. What A Mess! is written and designed by Keith Allen and it looks like a lot of fun.

I don’t know that it will actually encourage children to clean their rooms, but at least things won’t get worse while they are enjoying the book! You can read about the project here and you can link to the website here.


In knitting news:

Here’s this week’s recipe: this is the pattern (such as it is) for the asymmetrical shawls that I have been knitting.

Cast on three stitches.

Row 1: Knit to last stitch, knit through front and back of last stitch (2 stitches).

Row 2: Cast on one stitch. Knit through front and back of cast on stitch (2 stitches). Knit to last 2 stitches. Knit 2 together.

Repeat until you run out of yarn, or the shawl is big enough.

If you want to start a new colour, always begin on a Row 1 repeat. For stripes like the ones I have been making, knit 2 rows in a variegated yarn followed by 2 rows of the base yarn. I carry the yarn up the side of the shawl so there are only 4 ends to darn in when the shawl is finished.

You can do narrow stripes or wide stripes. You could insert a band with a lace pattern part way through or at the end or both.

I finish with a picot bind-off  (I cast off 5 stitches), but you could use another stretchy method like the Russian bind-off.

Have fun!


SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in art, artist's books, book arts, installation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

