Pictures Of An Exhibition

Done! (Well, almost.)

The exhibition was hung, displayed for a week, celebrated for an evening, and dismantled. The ‘almost’ is because I still have to finish all the little books to go with If I could save time in a bottle.

I was pleased both with the opportunity (one time only) to display the full 100 bottles and with the number of people who took the time to read the complete text which I had printed out and posted on either side of the work. (You can read the full 100 moments here.)

The show was also my first opportunity to see Memory Maps in a gallery setting. (First time I have seen it hung anywhere, actually.)

The combination of pieces by the four of us (Gale Hagblom, Puck Janes, Martin Tagseth, and me) worked well, and all of us were happy to answer questions at the reception and while taking turns sitting in the gallery. Below is a picture of Martin explaining glazing processes to interested guests.

The band we hired for the evening, Hot Club Saskatoon with Shelley Ewing, was great. I wished I had a little more time to just sit and enjoy the music. (I spent parts of the evening topping up food trays and washing the limited supply of wine glasses, the rest of the time explaining my work and greeting old friends.)

Besides finishing the little book to go with If I could save time in a bottle, I have one other job left after the exhibition.

I hung a large sheet of paper during the show and left a supply of felt markers beside it along with instructions to Make Your Mark. The information label states that I will turn this into a collaborative artist’s book. I had not expected people to leave words, so I am currently re-thinking my approach. I will write more about that in a future post.


In other book arts news:

If you are in Bremen, Germany this summer, there are two exhibitions at  Zentrum für Künstlerpublikationen that should appeal to people interested in the book arts: Artpool, works from the collection of Artpool, Budapest with a particular focus on artists’ publications; and Artists’ Books for Everything, an exhibition presenting a survey of the evolution, dissemination, and diversity of contemporary artists’ books. You can obtain more information at the link above.


In knitting news:

I did manage to get some knitting done this week, including some while sitting in the gallery. I finished the body of the off-white shawl I had begun two weeks ago. I am still debating whether to do some sort of collar, or a full border on the upper edge. I experimented with alternating bands of Old Shale (Shell) pattern. At this point the knitting is very ‘bubbly’ and definitely distorted by the pattern. I will have to wait and see if I can flatten it with blocking.

I also started a triangular lace piece that will likely be a neckerchief rather than a shawl as I have a limited supply of the black cotton thread.


In other local news:

Some of the forest tent caterpillar pupae have turned into moths. It appears that many of them likely won’t, but we still have enough moths that one can see dozens flying among the branches of a single shrub in the afternoon. David and I have both tried unsuccessfully to photograph them in flight. Their wings move so quickly that even in bright sunlight the camera only captures a beige blur. Mating moths hold still for longer.

Looks like we could be in for another disgusting caterpillar-filled spring next year.

 

 

SaveSave

SaveSave

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in art, artist's books, book arts, installation, knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pictures Of An Exhibition

  1. Hilke says:

    Wonderful! It is great to see your book-chain once more, and the bottled moments look so nice there. Not for the first time I so wish I could be there and see your books in person!
    Your list of moments is wonderful. It is almost sad to separate them into individual boxes. Maybe you could think up something new to gather them together again? Some sort of pensieve 🙂

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      Although the bottles will be broken up into groups of four, the whole list will be included. I was thinking that if I have room, I could include an image of the whole set.

      Like

Leave a Reply

