Friday Night Flicks: Where Do Ideas Come From?

When people ask me where I get my ideas (as if there were a corner shop somewhere that had a supply), I am sometimes tempted to respond “How do you not have ideas?” I seem to have retained from childhood that part of the brain that asks “what if?” and “why not?”

Tonight’s short video from Andrew Norton examines where people think their ideas come from.

 

 

Perhaps you will have some new and exciting ideas this weekend.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday Night Flicks: Where Do Ideas Come From?

  1. lcmt says:

    I really like a lot of the comments. The one I have never liked is the one from Chuck Close, “Inspiration is for amateurs”, but I’ve never had any prejudice towards amateurs, in fact, that’s always been my goal, to do something for the love of it. The last comment struck a chord with me, when she apologizes for sounding angry. I do that when I get emphatic, I realize I might sound angry, and I’m not angry. When I talk passionately about something, my voice becomes high-pitched and I realize I sound shrill. It’s frustrating sometimes, I just stop speaking because I think I am making other people uncomfortable.

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      I didn’t expect everyone looking at this video to agree with all the commenters. I think Chuck Close is a dick asshole less than thoughtful person (apparently his ideas are because he works harder than the rest of us — not!) and that the most reasonable person in the video is the young girl who thinks ideas are everywhere. ; ]
      Because they are.

      Liked by 1 person

      • lcmt says:

        Oh god yes they are. thick on the ground, in the trees, in the air, in your hair. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Byopia Press says:

        Don’t worry about the pitch of your voice when you get excited about something. Unless you are trying to sell something, it doesn’t matter. People who care about ideas will understand.

        On the other hand, if you want to sell a used car, or a second-hand bridge, you should pitch your voice as low as possible. ; ]

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

