A little travelling

I am composing this post on my iPad, which is unfamiliar technology for the job. My apologies in advance for any resulting aberrations.

We have been in England for a week. David helped his brother move his refurbished MG tb engine and attach it to the re-built frame.

We went to Bletchley Park

and saw both the Bombe

and the Colossus.

As I have been interested in codes and cyphers since childhood, I found the stories of breaking the Enigma and Lorenz codes fascinating.

I did manage to photograph one bookish thing before leaving Oxford to travel to The Lake District. This bench was in a park on the way to the train station.

We spent two nights in Hawkshead, and managed to get in a bit of local walking. This is Tarn Hows.

It was raining when I took the photo, so things were actually dimmer than in the picture.

The only bookish thing about Hawkshead were a number of shops featuring Beatrix Potter-related stock. Here’s one close to where we were staying.

Saturday morning we walked to Coniston, then part way up The Old Man of Coniston in the afternoon. It never actually rained where we were, but we stayed below the clouds.

The only Beatrix Potter-related thing around Coniston are my favourite sheep, the Herdwicks, a breed that she helped save from extinction.

The lambs are black, and then grow lighter and lighter as they age. I like Herdies because they seem to be smarter than other sheep … but they may just be calmer.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A little travelling

  1. great job with the IPad posting…I never got the hang of posting with mobile device. Awesomely beautiful photos, especially enjoyed the faux book on the bench.

    Like

Leave a Reply

