More on the two projects and A Little Mystery

Work continued on both of my current projects this week. I completed the first eight ‘drawings’ for On A Clear Day, including knotting the thread and adding a tiny bit of PVA to make sure each knot stays tied.

I also improved my photography set-up somewhat.

Here are the first eight drawings for On A Clear Day, in one of the possible arrangements: groups of four. (I am using four colours —not counting the recurring horizon line— signifying the four seasons and the four cardinal directions.)

I also continued with the #GuylaineLab project. Here are the first seventeen days.

Now for the Little Mystery: a small envelope full of hearts from someone in Portland.

I have communicated with a number of people from Portland over the years. I don’t recognize the handwriting and there is no return address. If you sent these, thank you so much. Receiving them was a delight.

*****

Since I try to post one DIY paper project a month, and since some interest has been expressed, I plan to post instructions next Sunday for making a trihexaflexagon out of nine diamond-shaped pieces of paper.


In other book arts news:

The launch for Helen Hiebert’s new book was held on Zoom last Tuesday.

One of the things Helen did to start things off was to ask people to write in the Chat box the things they love about paper. Here’s a partial list.

I was not able to stay for the instruction session, so I did not make my own Hexagonal Hat. Here are some of the people who did.

If you missed the launch, you can find the video here. If you just want to make the hat, the instructions begin at about 1:02 and you will need the following tools & materials:

– (3) sheets of card stock (80-100#) cut to 8-1/2″ x 9″ (grain running in the 8-1/2″ direction, if possible. I used double-sided paper)
– 3/4″ or wider Washi tape or other colored tape + optional stickers and collage items to decorate your hat
– Glue stick or white glue
– Scissors
– Exacto knife
– Cutting mat
– Scrap paper (a small piece of card stock)
– Bone folder
– Ruler

*****

If you have seen catalogues or posters from gallery exhibitions in New York between the late 1960s and the early 2000s, you have seen the work of Marcus Ratliff. If you would like to learn a little more about him, there is an article here.

*****

To close, a little reminder that a spell checker does not do the job of a proof reader.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than thirty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004. I also create prints and drawings that are frequently text-inspired or text-based.
This entry was posted in art, artist's books, book arts, Design and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More on the two projects and A Little Mystery

  1. Pingback: Endangered Species Pop-Up Book - Helen Hiebert Studio

  2. Donna Reiss says:

    Blog subscription please

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.