Friday Night Flicks: Bunny Island

The Easter Bunny is an odd sort of creature. A fertility symbol presumably leftover from pagan celebrations, he/she/it has become attached to one of the major celebrations of Christianity. And he/she/it leaves eggs (another fertility symbol) as gifts. I have always assumed that unlike Santa Claus, who is singular, the Easter Bunny exists in multiples. Now I think I know where they come from. Okunoshima is a small island in the Hiroshima Prefecture of Japan. Once home to chemical factories, it is now a resort with an unusual feature attraction: bunnies. Many, many bunnies.

Hoping the Easter Bunny is good to you this weekend!

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than thirty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004. I also create prints and drawings that are frequently text-inspired or text-based.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.