More Mechanical Month

I spent more time this week on my piece for the #areyoubookenough_machine challenge.

I have lost track 0f how many parts there are in this thing! Every time I reach a new stage I end up making more parts than I expected to need.

The sliding tube was fairly straight forward. I managed —with a little judicious sanding— to make two square tubes fit together with no slop, but with enough ease that the inner one slides easily inside the outer one.

Then I tackled the front end which holds the iris mechanism.

The flaps on three sides of the front will attach it to the main body. There is no flap on the fourth side to allow operation of the lever that opens and closes the iris.

I had to attach a panel on the inside of the iris to permit me to attach both the square tube and the extenders. The guide on my Kutrimmer came in handy when making sure everything was square when I glued things together.

I have worked out a design for the rotating disc at the back of the tube. It will also involve more parts than originally planned. The steps in assembly get increasingly complicated as the work progresses. I think very hard about each one, and then emerge from my studio with my brain hurting!


In other book arts news:

The Book Arts Newsletter’s most recent issue is now available. Download the latest edition mid-April – June 2020 No 132

This issue’s cover art is by Alyn Smith.

Alyn is a Printmaker and Illustrator from Cardiff, UK. Alyn uses a mixture of low-tech printmaking techniques and image manipulation software to create his playful illustrations. Alyn’s work is influenced by mid-century graphic design and advertising, referencing the fun characters and bold colour palettes.
https://www.instagram.com/printedbyalyn/
https://www.printedbyalyn.com
https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/Printedbyalyn

*****

If you are specifically interested in Typography, My Fonts recently published a guide to using colour in type.

You can check it out by downloading five-rules-of-type-and-color.

*****

Looking for things for adults and children to do together? The Iris recently posted five drawing exercises that can be done by any age, illustrated with inspirational examples from the Getty Collection.

You will find the post here.

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than thirty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004. I also create prints and drawings that are frequently text-inspired or text-based.
This entry was posted in art, artist's books, book arts, Design, illustration, moveable books, typography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.